Snaple4

FHS Location Poll  

29 members have voted

1. 1. What do do?

• Do nothing; we need more private schools
    • Build new High School and sell the current one
    • Keep and renovate the current High School
    • Renovate some of current High School and build a small new High School

Figured we might as well start a poll to see everyone's ideas.

Try to mention if you voted in favor of the city of Fayetteville, or the students.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Being a UofA student, I am biased twards the university having more resources. A new highschool would most likely be put on the outer edge of the downtown/city area and that would further demand for a second highschool on the opposite side (which I think would be best for our growing MSA). There are other reasons but I think selling is the best option overall.

Build new one, sell current. Then help create decent sized private schools to help even further.

• Replies 117
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I voted to keep the school where it is and renovate. As you say- a new school would most likely be built at the at the edge of town, probably at the site off Deane Solomon. Building there would lead to more sprawl and be costly to improve the infrastructure. While I'm all for the University aquiring property for future growth, it should be done in a financially responsible way. $59 million for buildings that weren't built with university use in mind is not a good idea. While it is indeed in the University's best interest to have an excellent public school system in the community this is not the way to ensure that.