Development Careers

roningreensboro

I am currently studying to take the GMAT because I want to go back and pursue an MBA. UNC Charlotte has a program in Real Estate Investment and Development that I am considering but looking at how I will be doing a total 180 degree change in careers I need a little insight on how and what to do now to prep myself for this investment. Can any of you urbanplanters guide me on suggestions, books, etc. to get myself more involved in Development?

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Congrats on the move. I might be joining you in the fall. I had everything ready to go about 3 yrs ago and pulled out just as I started to change careers. I had some friends go through the program as it was just starting about 4-5 yrs ago and they had good things to say about it. 1 ended up in the RE biz and 1 opted to stay in transportation. It can be a tough biz to crack into. I would recommend joining any prof group you can in order to start building yr network as fast as possible. This would include any civic opportunities. From time to time there are community advisory type positions in places like parks & rec, DOT, etc that would be great to get into. Not sure what yr background is, but I personally have taken several of the construction courses (blueprint reading, resdtl construc methods, etc) to get up to speed on some of the lingo.