Best Places to get Skyline Shots

PeytonC

Hi everyone. I am fairly new to Charlotte (2 yrs) and have noticed that alot of you guys are excellent photographers. Can I get some ideas for the best (safe) places to get some skyline shots of uptown? I am only home about 5 days per month but when I can I like to dabble in photography (just learning). Thanks for any suggestions.

Love the site BTW and you guys know alot about what's going on around town. I learn alot in here. It is exciting to see all of the projects going up in Charlotte.

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have used the top of the Mint St. Parking Deck, perfect for bringing a tripod up. I have also used the parking deck next to Bland St. Station, can get some nice views of S. Tryon area and the new Wachovia. The Light Rail stations in uptown provide for some excellent elevated views. One of my favorite views is from where Royal Court is being build and on the other side of 277. Also, just on the west side of 77, around where Skybridge Terraces is going up provides some nice views.

To get the most full looking city view I would have to say probally take from the east side around Elizabeth and CPCC, that view is breathtaking, because it shows where the majority span of uptown is, along Tryon, and also shows the government district and things like The Park. Have fun, discovery, and keep us updated.

Unfortunatly for me, I dropped something on my camera and it's now R.I.P. No more pictures for me until I get a new one when I have some extra money.

Sadly all the best skyline views are in not in the safest parts.

North:

1. 30th St. Bridge over Amtrak

2. NoDa.

Jordan Pl. and N. Davidson.

3. Double Oaks.

Oaklawn and Statesville Ave.

4. Statesville Ave and Atando

5. Graham St.

West:

1. Wesley Heights/biddleville.

5th and Flint.

2. Wilkinson and Freedom Dr.

Plenty of places.

3. Brookshire Freeway between 77 and 85

East:

1. Plaza Midwood

Gordan and Commonwealth

2. Grier Heights