First Horizon Park - Home of the Nashville Sounds

RemarkableHomes

I have been a long time reader of this forum, but this is my first time posting. My first step into Nashville advocacy is a petition to Mayor Karl Dean to redevelop the riverfront with a park system and baseball stadium: http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/nashvi...riverfront.html

Let me know what you think! Obviously, I did not stuff the online petition full of details that most would gloss over anyway, but the general idea is this:

Our hope is that the baseball stadium and park system will be paid for the exact same way the old convention center was paid. The city issued bonds that we payable over 20 years. They were paid solely by tourism dollars and an airport tax which is now going towards the new convention center (Music City Center). It is our hope that the new convention center would designate a percentage of their revenues towards this riverfront redevelopment. We advocate that all of the tax dollars collected go towards Davidson County schools only...not into the "rainy day" fund as proposed. We want Davidson County schools to be the ultimate benefactor for all of these projects, but you have to do 3 things first: Build a population in Davidson County (not just Green Hills and Vandy area), collect those new tax dollars, and build the schools reputations so that those new residence choose public over private schools.

Welcome to the forum.

I appreciate your interest in downtown Nashville, I completely agree and want Nashville to have a downtown stadium. However, I have a few changes to your petition that I hope you consider revising.

1. The riverfront is a small property. It's smarter to build a minor league stadium in an area that is suitable to make additions to the stadium if Nashville has the opportunity to secure a MLB team, as opposed to building a completely new stadium in a new area from scratch.