Carowinds concerns

dkst0426

I'll preface what all I'm about to say by first stating that I used to be a resident in the area. I lived in Mount Holly, and for at least 3 years, I was a Carowinds season pass holder. I enjoyed taking groups of people from church and/or family to visit the park multiple times each summer, and then looked forward to Scarowinds come the fall.

I have since moved to Burlington, and pretty much the only two times I've gone since 2006 have been my annual trip with my 2 nieces, whom I have been taking to Carowinds since 2003. I just returned from this year's edition of the trip, which I had been looking forward to. With the ownership change and all that, I was wondering what was in store.

Suffice to say, I was hugely disappointed. Parking was its usual mess, so that was to be expected. However, I've noticed the parking lot steadily erode over the last couple of years, especially towards the main exit. I guess I just never paid too much attention to that when I was a regular, but now that I'm not, it's a pretty stark realization.

The ticket counter and security checkpoint were fine. I've always appreciated the large space between the ticket counters and going through security, because on really busy days, having too many people in either area would be chaotic.

Ok, on to the three main concerns I had: