Regionalism in Connecticut

Richhamleigh, DC

I saw this in the Courant and wondered what people thought? Do you think that regionalism is a good thing for Connecticut?

I wonder about merging school districts as a way for making Hartford (and other older cities) more attractive places for people to live?

Regionalism: Blessing Or Curse?

Smarter Use Of Resources Should Guide Plans

By MICHAEL CIRIELLO

Harford Courant October 26, 2008

I grew up near Hartford, and while I'm now an urban designer and city planner in North Carolina, my interest in Connecticut has never waned. The state has a problem that needs a solution.

Connecticut must learn to focus on its problems holistically and examine which regional environmental, land-use and transportation planning practices and mechanisms will maximize fiscal efficiency and yield the greatest return for citizens.

I believe society is better-served when all students are given equal access to educational opportunities. Growing up in Connecticut, my high school

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

With Connecticut being small in area it seems to be a no brainer to co-operate with neighbours.

With Hartfords land area absolutely tiny it is imperitive it work with its neighbours.

The sad truth is that CT works closer with NY than any other State, and not in a locally productive way.(I am a NYer and I used to refer to CT as New Yorks nicest suburb. Jersey is our worst suburb) I guess I am a nutmegger now, but whatever.

Hartford has limited regional connections. I would love to see Hartford county restructure itself into the primary controlling government in the area. Call the County the city, then make the individual towns buroughs or districts.