Town Center Architecture Project

mbergin

Hello All,

I'm new to the forum and also new to the area. I graduated with an architecture degree from a school in Massachusetts last May and took a job in the Virginia Beach area. I am planning on going back to graduate school in the next two years and I'm also trying to keep my skills sharp, so I've decided to put together a project focusing on the developing Pembroke/Town Center area. I have read into much of what has been posted on this forum relating to Town Center development and I think I have a feel for what the main problems are, I'd like this project to focus on building an Urban core, and also to attract tourists from the beach to visit the Town Center area.

I've had much input on a possible program for the project, including :

City Hall

Library

Art Gallery

College Extension

Museum

Church

Light Rail Station

Ground Floor Retail

Nightclub/Cocktail Bar

Basically, this project should be a cultural hub, and have a unique and intriguing look and feel in order to help define an identity for the Virginia Beach area.

I'm hoping to receive suggestions on program and ideal site locations, and as the project develops I will keep this thread updated, I thank you in advance for any contribution you may be able to make.

- M

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply