Exchange student for UALR seeking advice

Hello everyone

I'm a Norwegian student currently finishing my second year of a bachelors degree in history at NTNU in Trondheim, Norway. I recently learnt that the departments of history at NTNU and UALR made an exchange agreement in December 2008, and I'm rather hastily trying to figure out if I should make use of this agreement for the 2009/2010 academic year, starting this coming August. Since Norwegian and US bachelors are structured somewhat differently, this coming academic year will be the final year of my bachelors degree. In that regard, I have a near endless supply of questions, and I was hoping that some of you who live there might be able to give me som inside advice on the city, the university and various other issues. I'm sorry if I'm being way to detailed here, I hope you'll bear with me.

As I mentioned, I'm Norwegian, and have not yet visisted the US, so I'm not too well aquainted with how an average US city works. I grew up in Bod

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1. Crime is mostly concentrated in "bad" areas of town. Unfortunately, UALR is in one of those "bad" areas. You're safe on campus but off campus I wouldn't let my guard down.

2. Coleman place should be alright, but there are many shady apartments in that general area. Most people in Little Rock want to be in West Little Rock, west of I-430 along the Chenal area or in the Hillcrest/Heights areas which are north of I-630.

3. Little Rock is EXTREMELY suburban and car-centric. I wouldn't recommend coming to Little Rock without a car because it virtually cannot be done. You can take the bus, but its very inconvenient. Most people here rely on their cars to go anywhere and everywhere.

4. I didn't attend UALR so I am not sure.