Performance halls or lack thereof

I just enjoyed a fantastic concert from the Jenison High School choral department. They have had great programs in the fine arts for as long as my family can remember - both my mother and I graduated from JHS.

The problem I noticed was that the students weren't performing from a school performance hall, but rather in a church sanctuary in Hudsonville.

I'm bringing this up because there are a great deal of wonderful performance spaces in the area at schools like Caledonia, Forest Hills, Kenowa Hills and that gorgeous space at GR Christian High School. Jenison has a great football stadium and a state of the art swimming pool, but has absolutely no quality space for their award winning choral, band, orchestral, and theatre groups.

Thoughts or comments anyone?

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That school does need a new auditorium in the worst possible way. The music and theater departments there are pretty good and more than deserve a quality space. The current auditorium is sorely inadequate as I am pretty sure it was the original from when the building was constructed in the late 60's. I use to go to the same church as the theater director and I know there have been trying to put together a grassroots movement to start pushing some awareness and possible fundraising but nothing serious as of yet that I know of. I'm sure they'll need a bond to get it to pass though. Logistically, expansion would also be difficult as they are pretty tight for space now and would have to probably build out into the student parking lot. Meaning they will have to replace those spaces by partially building on their old soccer/band practice field.