GR DDA Secret Meeting

John E

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

While I am not an expert on the open meetings laws, I have fulfilled a FOIA request or two.

It's probably beyond Jay Fowler's job description to provide the Press with meeting schedules and agendas. It might be possible for more than a couple of DDA members to have a meeting without violating any laws.

Sometimes a committee is just a committee.

I don't think the Open Meetings Act would apply to something like a DDA b/c it is merely a committee and usually nothing official is ever decided. Any major project would still be subject to the PC and city council. Closed sessions can also be held often in the case when the party involved is consulting a lawyer.

I don't think the Open Meetings Act would apply to something like a DDA b/c it is merely a committee and usually nothing official is ever decided. Any major project would still be subject to the PC and city council. Closed sessions can also be held often in the case when the party involved is consulting a lawyer.

I guess I'm confused by the whole thing. Does every DDA meeting have to be public? If I met with the DDA, would it have to be public? If a company is looking at relocating to downtown, and meets with the DDA, does it have to be public?

I guess I'm confused by the whole thing. Does every DDA meeting have to be public? If I met with the DDA, would it have to be public? If a company is looking at relocating to downtown, and meets with the DDA, does it have to be public?

If you (or some company) wanted to meet with the entire board, at once, then yes. The OMA applies when there is a quorum present. If they just wanted to meet one-on-one with Jay Fowler (or some other member of the DDA Board), then it would not have to be a public meeting.

(1) All meetings of a public body shall be open to the public and shall be held in a place available to the general public."