Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Clark, you serious?

New Bloom Grocery Store at Wade Hampton & Church?

33 posts in this topic

I'm moving to that part of town and was told that a Bloom was under construction at that triangle piece of land at Wade Hampton Blvd and N. Church and Stone Ave. Anyone know the schedule and what else is planned there? Sorry if this is covered in another thread, but I'm new to the Greenville board. Thanks, in advance.

There is nothing planned for that site at this time. They are just flattening the land to make it more appealing for future development.

I'm moving to that part of town and was told that a Bloom was under construction at that triangle piece of land at Wade Hampton Blvd and N. Church and Stone Ave. Anyone know the schedule and what else is planned there? Sorry if this is covered in another thread, but I'm new to the Greenville board. Thanks, in advance.

That area does need a grocery store- right near where Sears was? I'm surprised that that whole part of town hasn't attracted higher-density residential, too, being so near downtown.

This is one of several prime locations for an additional downtown grocer. (Others include Camperdown Way at South Academy Street and Rutherford at Shaw streets.) If one decides to locate there, I hope they follow this model example.

Though rumors have circulated about Bloom adding a store, the Food Lion umbrella has temporarily halted plans for additional stores as they reevaulate the upstate market. Ingle's Markets have eyed downtown for years, and would be an exciting challenge to land their new 90.000 square feet store somewhere. Publix wants a second downtown store just for the North Main community, and an additional store along North Pleasantburg for Cherrydale and Montebello.

How is the downtown Publix doing? Every time I go in there (weekends), it seems pretty empty.