Looking for that little known, must see thing in Charleston

swampfox43

Hello everyone. I believe this is my first time straying from the Charlotte, NC forum to another cities forum, but with my upcoming vacation to Charleston on July 31-Aug 2 (wish I could stay longer), I would love for some of you that really know every nook & cranny (so to speak) of this incredible city to let me in on a few of Charleston's best kept secrets. I have only visited Charleston several times in my 48 years and have never done an overnighter so I am really, really excited. I am going with a couple friends who are also from Charlotte but they have stayed in Charleston before and have done all the touristy things. We have a hotel already picked out in the historic district. One that my friend has stayed in before and was fine. And seeing how we plan on spending very little time there, the location on Meeting St seemed to fit the bill. Not particularly interested in great, little known bars or pubs although if unique enough, maybe so.

When I say "best kept secrets", I suppose that could come in various forms. Really unique views, must see home, a particular store or restaurant, a certain home with unusual ties, gosh I am sure that everyone has their favorite Charleston visual that isn't listed in the books.

Hope to hear from ya!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, everywhere will be packed out because its the height of tourist season. Personally, one of my favorite spot that is off the primary tourist route (but still gets a lot of them) is the Blind Tiger, which is on Broad Street between Church and State Streets. If you go there, go to the outdoor area in the back.