Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

RALNATIVE

Raleigh Eyesores and Disappointments

33 posts in this topic

We all have our definition of an "eyesore," but to me, any bldg that stands out significantly and does not blend in with its surroundings meets the description. Over the last several years, we've all gotten excited everytime a new new building was annouced, hoping that the next big thing would take Raleigh's architectural image to the next level. It seems as though in most cases, that excitment quickly turned to disappointment. My biggest fear is that Raleigh will eventually become one of those cities known for lame archtitecture, if this trend doesn't change.

The two bldgs that immediately come to mind are the Hue and the new Harris Teeter complex at North Hills. My primary issue with those bldgs are the contrasts in color. Is Raleigh trying to become the next Miami? I'm no design expert, but I honestly think that the exteriors of those bldgs could have been better designed to blend in with their surroundings.

Does anyone else have examples of hideous Raleigh architecture? If so, please elaborate on why you feel the bldg meets the description of an eyesore.

I nominate the Audio Buys building at Five Points:

12cxQ.png

Why? Just look at the thing.

I think that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. The two buildings you stated I have absolutely not problem with and there are probably buildings that you like that I hate. Everyone has different taste...

As for that Audio Buy building, I always thought it looked kinda like a building that was built on stilts, as if they were expecting a flood.