Odd request concerning Time Warner DVR customers only

swampfox43

I debated whether I even wanted to bring this up here, but after discussing this with a co-worker who has the same problems, I thought I'd give it a shot. Who knows. If enough people are having the same problem, maybe something will eventually be done to correct it.

This concerns only Time Warner customers who are using the DVR brand Scientific Atlanta 8300, supplied by Time Warner (unless you are using another brand and having the same issue).

I'll get straight to the point. Does anyone have problems with non-responsive, or severe lag in response when using the remote control to, record, delete, play, save, etc.? I've been using the Time Warner DVR setup for about 5 years and this problem started almost a year ago. I've since complained and was given a new DVR and remote but the exact same problem still exist. I talked to the TW rep and he, although reluctant to admit it, made a comment along the lines of "the recent updates have overloaded the system and it just takes longer for the DVR to respond to the remote." Well, how about no response at all sometimes! I can push "play" 4 or 5 times on something I've recorded before it finally reacts. It's insane! It has nothing to do with how far I am from the DVR. It's less than 10 feet. Anyway, as minor as this may seem to many, it's become a real pain in the you know what. I know of at least one other person having the same issue so I am curious just how wide spread this is. Maybe UP readers can help me out here.

And please! None of you "I use satellite TV and don't have this problem". This concerns Time Warner and their DVR's. :thumbsup:

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply