New Belk logo

StevenRocks

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

How much of a change from their present logo do you think?

From what i hear, quite a bit. The new logo is supposed to reference one of the previous 1960s logos, and the signature Belk blue-green will be history as well. I can't find any information online about what the new logo will look like.

From what i hear, quite a bit. The new logo is supposed to reference one of the previous 1960s logos, and the signature Belk blue-green will be history as well. I can't find any information online about what the new logo will look like.

I really like their current logo! Hope it's not bad! When they replace it, a Charlottean needs to take a picture! :)

• 2 weeks later...

I'll offer my over-analytical two cents as this is what I do for a living...I think the typography looks clean and contemporary, but the abstract blue mark is a little overly trendy right now, and will look dated itself in 5 years. The plus is that its fairly extend-able as a graphic element to other pieces, as seen in the shopping bag. It's always a plus to be able to use the logo as more than a logo on a field of white. Overall a nice-looking but sort of cliche effort.

There's always an uproar when a logo gets refreshed. Even though everyone was used to the old Belk logo, it was AWFUL. It had some of the worst typography I've ever seen by a major chain, not to mention in an insanely dated color.

Hmmm.....I think I really like it. Just maybe this will be sufficent enough to encourage the well healed snooty shoppers at Phipps Plaza to actually shop in the Atanta Flagship department store, rather than Saks or Nordstorm.

From what I see, this was a terrific move, and none of Atlanta's suburban Belk stores seem to be having problems. It's just the snooty, beotchy shoppers (not all) at Phipps that think Simon should have replaced the former Parisian with Bergdorf Goodman, of course owned by Neiman Marcus.