Affordable Downtown Living

TREE4309

I'm a Jacksonville resident and new to the forum, so I apologize if this has been discussed at length before, but is it just me, or is there a serious lack of affordable residential projects downtown? I'm ideally looking to buy a true loft (1000+ sf.) in the $150-225k range, although I would consider anything that is architecturally interesting in the same price range. Everything I have seen is either for rent (WA Knight Building, Liberty St. Lofts, Market St. Lofts, Lofts San Marco) or out of my price range (Home Street Lofts, Churchwell Lofts, 1661 Riverside) I know I may be asking for alot here, but are there any existing or new project slated that might fit my needs? Has anyone successfully renovated a small building themselves? The old fire station at Ocean and Adams is impressive, although much more grand than what I have in mind. I've spotted a few buildings of interest...618 E. Adams, 118? Main St. (next to Farah & Farah Law Offices between Bay and Forsyth), and a small building caddycorner to Hemming Plaza (currently has a shoe repair shop on the first floor), etc. With limited capital...I'd have no idea where to start. Any insight is appreciated...thanks!

-Todd

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can wait as long as necessary, I own a home in the Ortega neighborhood that I'm completing a restoration on. I had actually initially posted this on Skyscrapercity and Lakelander suggested I post it here as well. I'll dig through the forum to see what has been discussed, but any info you can share is much appreciated. Thanks!

Unfortunately, "Downtown" and "affordable housing" seldon go together in the same sentence, regardless of the city. It is often singles that have the lifestyle to live downtown (ie don't need a yard for the kids,etc), but the pricing requires two incomes in most cases.