Fall election - Memphis payroll tax proposal

http://www.wmctv.com/Global/story.asp?S=2452350&nav=4XzRSArO

Payroll tax questions from Mid-South voters

People who've already voted say they were confused about the ordinance calling for a payroll tax in Memphis. The tax would be applied to everyone who works in the city. Some voters say the question on the ballot is too wordy and says nothing about a payroll tax. Audrey Joffrey is a retired school teacher and accountant. Joffrey says she is in favor of a payroll tax and that's what she thought she would be voting for, until she read the question on the ballot. Steve Mulroy, U of M Law Professor said, "Just reading it as a lawyer, I don't see any hidden agenda except to just cover themselves. So that whatever they decide to do, that's like a payroll tax, however they decide to do it. It will be covered by this very broad language."

Attorney Alan Wade drafted the ordinance. Wade says it was not meant to be confusing, just precise enough to give the city council parameters to write a payroll tax or privilege tax ordinance. Wade says the ordinance, if passed, will allow city council to decide which vocations or occupations it will tax.

The referendum reads: "The Council of the City of Memphis is authorized by Ordinance to authorize the City of Memphis to levy and collect an additional privilege tax and /or fee on the privilege of engaging in certain vocations, occupations, callings and employment related activities within the City and to authorize the use of revenue derived therefrom for budget expenditures for fire, police and for corresponding reductions of ad valorem taxes for expenditures made from such revenues."

Voters will be asked to vote For or Against the referendum. A vote FOR means you favor a citywide payroll tax for everyone who works inside the city of Memphis. A vote AGAINST means you are against a citywide payroll tax.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply