M. Brown

• 2 months later...

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Here is a pic of the competed CMC

cmc-2004-06-15-120031.jpg

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Ugh, this building is very unimpressive, and could be in any city or suburb anywhere in the country and could have been built at any point in the last 30 years... Even the chance for some, or any detailing in the ER and main entrances is neglected in exchange for bland, spare, modern (and undoubtedly cheap) treatments As a doctor, I have to say that hospital architecture in general is very disappointing and rarely adds to the flavor of their cities. This is especially true in New England, which seems to have been passed over by the brief and now largely expired trend towards interesting hospital construction (as construction in the increasingly financially squeezed medical industry grinds to a halt).

In Providence, the entire Rhode Island Hospital campus is quite unattractive (although there's some good landscaping), and its larger,neighboring APC building is a travesty (it looks like a dripping, wet sponge when it rains). Hasbro Children's and the flanking Co-op building at least have some spark and interesting night lighting, but the new connecting ER (the about to be completed "Bridge Building"), while clean, has no flavor whatsoever and is essentially a brick box. The old Providence VA has some majesty about it, but it is diminished by a new outpatient addition (which is actually somewhat interesting in its modern design but unfortunately has no context or relation with the older structure to which it's surgically grafted). Roger Williams has a horendous 50's-70's addition. Miriam Hospital may be unique in having nothing at all even identifiable as architecture... It's just there.