Why is fake stucco bad for urban developments?

dubone

I have often heard negative comments about fake stucco on urban developments. I have generally just accepted the comments, because it sounds like a low cost/low quality material. What are some examples of fake stucco, and what makes them so bad?

I'm not totally sure I know the difference between fake stucco and real stucco. Is it only where chicken wire shows through holes? I notice that City View Towers at 5th and Graham is getting stucco siding, does anyone know whether it is fake or real?

In future developments, such as trademark and 230 S Tryon (where the rendering does not appear like stone/block/brick masonry, glass, or other typical building material) is it assumed to be stucco? (e.g. are the white sections of Trademark painted concrete, or stucco or something else?)

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

From what I have heard, it just doesn't hold up well at all. I'm no expert on the subject, but if you get up close to it, you can tell it's fake. The apartments I lived in while I was in Charlotte are fake stucco. It looks nice from a distance, but when you get a closer look, and actually feel it, you can definitely tell.

There were also serious moisture problems with the fake stucco when they first started doing it around here about 10 years ago...Huge lawsuit....I don't know if the technique has improved or the technology...but it definately is not desireable.

Fake stucco is like a boob job...bottom line is that it's fake and just not as good as the real thing.

Do you know if the stucco they are putting on the city view towers is fake? 

Is its negative association just a matter of the problems it causes in the building, or a matter of the appearance of the building?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I thought that the bad reputation of fake stucco was just a hangover from the big lawsuit days and that they'd actually fixed all the problems.