What do we "really" do?

Urban_LA

What is your professional background?  

55 members have voted

1. 1. What is your professional background?

• Landscape Architect
    • Architect
    • Planner
    • Interior Designer
    • Engineering
    • Development (i.e. Realtor, Broker, Developer, etc)
    • Law (i.e. Attorney)
    • Media
    • Educational (i.e. Professor, Teacher, etc)
    • Medical
    • Concerned Citizen
    • Student
    • Other (if so, please indicate what profession)

Just curious as to what we "really" do. Posting to UrbanPlanet does not necessarily constitute a profession, so I thought it would be good for all of us to come clean. :D I will be the first to vote and to comment on why I am a Landscape Architect (feel free to elaborate or just vote).

Decided to do Landscape Architecture as opposed to Architecture when it came time to "pin-up" and get into either Interiors, Lanscape or Architecture. I did so because I liked the variability of scale inherent in Landscape Architecture and thought that Architecture focused to often on the edifce and not the context. I have worked on projects that were simply "landscape" plans and I have helped master plan the growth of downtown areas and universities. Big scale, little scale it all falls under Landscape Architecture at some point (and it usually has nothing to do with landscape...who would have thunk it? :blink: )

That being said, I truly love Architecture and view myself as an Architect in a Landscape Architects body. To me, it's all about design, or as I like to quote, "all design is interrelated, and that work in several fields strengthens abilities in all, providing for a diversity of perspective not usually open to a single discipline" - Verge Studios.

The Urb

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply