Wish List For Jacksonville

jjoshjl

I'm not a developer, jsut a loley computer programer, but I am obsessed with watching our downtown grow, so, I wanted to start a thread for individuals like me to post things they would like to see for Jacksonville. This can be Downtown Development Ideas, Companies we would like to bring, Directions Jacksonville should take, ETC. Basicly, describe what you want for JAX, put their pro's and there cons, and maybe, since alot of developers seem to watch these boards, maybe, just maybe someone might pick one up and try and do something with it. If nothing else, it will be a good sharing of ideas.

Have fun

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

~Renovated Landing: big-name retail/restaurants/residences/parking

~Expanded Skyway: Bay Street/Main Street/Riverside Avenue

~Prime Osborne Transit Hub: Amtrak/Greyhound/Skyway/Rapid Transit/City Buses

~Old Courthouse Site: new convention center/retail/residences

~Affordable/Moderate Housing: build on surface parking near the new library on Main St./build on lots near Jefferson Station/build at Hayden Burns site

~Complete Everything on P&C List

I would like to see future development implementing more architecturally creative elements. I understand environment influences design, which partly explains why we have so much turquoise/aqua/blue downtown (e.g., Bank of America, SunTrust, Wachovia, Humana, Alltel, Riverpointe) to reflect various shades of the St. Johns and exterior surface colors consisting of what I describe as washed out beiges and grays. Notable in this group are the modis, CSX and Blue Cross Blue Shield buildings as well as the Adam's Mark and Alltel.