Thinking about moving to Providence?

Cotuit

• Replies 1.1k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks guys! I bounced over here from the other Providence thread. Lower Doyle, I'm not familiar with that area. Is that on the East Side over near Camp Street? Also, if TheAnk is out there listening, maybe he could give me some feedback on the best areas to buy property now. And, where do you find most of your homes; through the paper, a realtor. etc. I'm a bit new to this..I did have a condo in North Providence that I sold last year because I moved, but have never purchased investment prop.

Thanks guys!  I bounced over here from the other Providence thread.  Lower Doyle, I'm not familiar with that area.  Is that on the East Side over near Camp Street?  Also, if TheAnk is out there listening, maybe he could give me some feedback on the best areas to buy property now.  And, where do you find most of your homes; through the paper, a realtor. etc.  I'm a bit new to this..I did have a condo in North Providence that I sold last year because I moved, but have never purchased investment prop.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

It is on the East Side near Camp street, and is a very "mixed" area in all regards: socioeconomically, racially, home pricing, retail, and crime-wise. It's also definitely a prime area for growth and gentrification, and this is already happening (see the new Pratt Condos nearby that will go for $700,000+). For now, though, a condo there probably goes for $50,000-$150,000 less than an equivalent condo elsewhere on the East Side, depending upon location. One thing that kept me from looking in this area, aside from the higher crime stats, is that it doesn't really have a pedestrian retail community nearby like Wayland Square, Federal Hill, Hope Village, Thayer St., Broadway, or Wickenden. It's closer to the boundry of Pawtucket, so you start to see auto oriented strip plazas going North of lower Doyle along N. Main.