Convention Center Area Develpoment?

GRCentro

I'm new to the forum and am so happy to find a place where people are actively discussing the development in downtown Grand Rapids. I am a former student member of the GR City Planning Commission, so I used to be in the inside loop of all the new happenings downtown. However, I have only recently returned from living 6 months in Argentina. Imagine my delight to return and find all these new things in progress!

I see great things happening in the Monroe and Heartside areas. My biggest question, though is concerning the convention center. Ok, so now we have a world class center... but with comparatively inadequate city features to help support it. It has been a complaint from convention organizers. Perhaps you all have already talked about this? The biggest problem, as I see it, is the area directly around the center. A first-time visitor walks out the front doors and is greeted by the stone wall of a parking garage and some of the coldest, ugliest buildings in the city (don't get me started about the 60's disaster, 'urban renewal'.)

A short while ago, a proposal was put out to build new city and county gov't offices on a different site and redevelop Calder Plaza with a 25 story hotel, among other things. It was heavily criticized for potentially placing a lump of the cost on taxpayers and I never heard much about it again. What ever happened to it? Can't the gov't relocate to the riverfront lot it already owns? Seems to me they could sell the current site at a fortune. I'd love to see the site redeveloped (with the Calder sculpture in the plan) as a tourist-friendly urban park with retail, dinning, and lodging. Are there any more plans for the site in the air?