Get It Together, Columbia!

superjack

I have been a Columbia resident for several years now, and I have become increasingly frustrated about downtown development. This city could be so much better. For one thing, city council and planners can't seem to decide the direction of the city; for example, are we trying to go the direction of Savannah or Charlotte? Main St, Five Points, or the Vista? Bombers or not? There seems to be a push for more downtown residents, but disagreement on how to develop available space. We've completed the convention center, but wait... no hotel!? Just an empty lot facing an eyesore -- you know that lot with the Heart of Cola hotel on it. It just gives the impression that city planning, particularly downtown, is extremely haphazard. I mean, one defintion of insanity could be how many times we redo Main St expecting different results. I've been following some of the other posts on this site for some time, and you all have interesting perspectives. One that particularly struck me was the post about power lines. Why are all these hideous lines still running up and down Assembly St? Why not bury those before redoing Main St again? I love Columbia and the midlands, and I long to take visiting friends and family downtown and say, "Look at how cool our city is!" I long to drive downtown on a Saturday, park my car, and have all kinds of things to keep me busy the rest of the day -- for example, shopping, restaurants, entertainment, sports, fine arts, etc., all within WALKING DISTANCE. And I don't think we'll be successful treating the Vista and Main St as seperate entities. We need piece together the seemingly disconnected parts of downtown. We need to really promote downtown living with specific goals in mind. For example, how many residents to we want living in the 12x12 blocks that constitute "downtown," and the 3-5x5-7 blocks that make up the city center. At the same time, we need to give people a reason to go downtown. I believe it's the hear