and for non-lurkers

daniel nudnik

since the non-posting readers are saying hi, maybe we could say a few words about ourselves too? it seems like all of us have an interesting stake in GR, I say let's share it.

I'm Dan F, I'm a 4th-year college student from Grand Rapids (by way of Detroit) presently living in Ann Arbor. I've been interested in urban development and what people now call smart growth since my early teen years. The hopeful mood and action-packed atmosphere of the late 1990s was the initial backdrop for my interest, though in the last few years I've gotten serious and active about making sure the right policies prevail in the GR area and around the state. seems a lot of people have done the same thing.

I'm on staff at the newspaper at UM and plan to either find an internship in GR or go to grad school in Urban Planning at McGill next year. I love this board. I think we are sweet.

too much information I know...hopefully at least one person will follow suit and say a few words :)

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'll follow. I'm Joe. I am Director of Marketing for a currency trading firm in Grand Rapids (Ada actually). I live and breathe architecture, and actually dream about it many nights. I would have been an architect if it weren't for the fact that my math skills are terrible and I always give myself a 10% margin of error. ;)

I've been driving around Grand Rapids, thinking of what it could be since Plaza Towers (Eastbank) was being built in the late eighties, early nineties. My tastes lean towards older architecture but lately I have been swept up in very modern architecture.

When I grow up I want to renovate old buildings. ;)

Joe