How far, how high, how big

CtownMikey

I'm still fairly new to Urban Planet. I actually joined around the week in february when all of the Providence projects were announced. So way too much was going on :P . I'm just wondering how much potential everyone thinks Providence actually has. (To grow larger in population, how high the high-rises may be built, how many business do you think may move to Prov. if any..etc.) You guys and gals obviously know what you're talking about so I'd like to hear what you all have to say cuz im just a teenager :) and have no idea what the answer to my question would be. All I know is that things like this excite me!! Thanks :D

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, this is a really complex question... My feeling is that there are "macro" forces and "local" forces...

Macro forces would include, of course, the national economy. I consider small cities like Providence to be the canaries in the mines. If the economy tanks, it takes the city with it to a certain degree.

Another macro force would be, whether we like it or not, our city's increasing dependence on Boston and Mass workers/residents means that when Boston's economy sneezes, Providence has the potential to really catch cold.

If things stay good nationally, and Boston stays white hot with its scorching real estate market, Providence will do OK.

Local factors would include how well all of the proposed development does. If Chase can't fill his lofts, and Tazza and Hotel Providence can't make a go of it, we're in trouble. If the Masonic temple's hotel rooms sit empty, the G-Tech building chases Waterfire goers away, and they're giving away rooms at Parcel 2, look out...

Thankfully, I think all of these things (with a speed bump and hiccup here and there) will go just fine...