outside impression of detroit

kgourlay

My parents hosted a conference a couple weeks ago, and they had a guest facilitator come in from Washington, D. C. The facilitator had the pleasure of staying downtown during his visit, and my parents talked to him about the city a little bit over dinner one night.

The guest was appalled, horrified even, at the state of things downtown. Being the naive outsider that he was, he thought he would walk from his hotel downtown (not sure which one he was staying at) and get a bite to eat, then do some shopping. Now, granted, there are a fair number of restaurants downtown, but if you don't know where you're going, especially if you're on foot, they can be very hard to find. Well I guess he finally got some food, but then he wanted to buy a shirt for the conference and couldn't find a place. He asked some people on the street where he could find a clothing store, and they couldn't give him an answer. I, too, though I am a resident, would be at a loss. Beyond the lack of a Bachrach, J. Crew, Eddie Bauer, Hudson's (oh, Hudson's... how I miss thee) etc., I don't even know of any decent generic brand clothing stores. When I first moved into the city, I think I asked someone the same question (where to buy clothing) and I was directed to Oakland Mall. How sad. In my couple years living in the city I've found a few clothing stores, but probably not what our friend from Washington was looking for: There is a place advertising "GHETTO GEAR" up on 8 Mile, and a couple stores with similar style along Vernor Highway in the Mexicantown area. Alas, no Hollister yet. Not even a Target.

Does anyone else have experiences with the city, either as a visitor or as a host to a visitor from another area?